Amazon’s ‘The People We Hate at the Wedding’ Begins Production in U.K.

Ad Blocker Detected

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.

Production has started in London on Amazon original romantic comedy film “The People We Hate at the Wedding,” headlined by Allison Janney, Kristen Bell and Ben Platt.

The cast also includes Cynthia Addai-Robinson (“The Lord of the Rings”), Karan Soni (“7 Days)”, Dustin Milligan (“Schitt’s Creek”), Tony Goldwyn (“King Richard”), Isaach De Bankolé (“The Limits of Control”), Jorma Taccone (“Popstar”), and Julian Ovenden (“Bridgerton”).

The film is being directed by Emmy winner Claire Scanlon (“Brooklyn Nine-Nine”) from a script by Lizzie Molyneux-Logelin and Wendy Molyneux, which the duo adapted from Grant Ginder’s novel of the same name.

“The People We Hate at the Wedding” follows struggling American siblings Alice (Bell) and Paul (Platt), who reluctantly agree to attend the wedding of their estranged, wealthy half-sister in the English countryside alongside their mother, Donna (Janney). Over the course of the wedding week, the family’s skeletons are wrenched from the closet.

The film is produced by FilmNation Entertainment, whose previous collaborations with Amazon Studios include “The Big Sick,” “Late Night” and “The Map of Tiny Perfect Things.”

FilmNation’s Ashley Fox will produce the film, which will debut on Amazon Prime Video next year.

Ginder is the best-selling author of five novels: “Honestly, We Meant Well,” “Driver’s Education,” “This is How it Starts,” “The People We Hate at the Wedding,” and the upcoming “Let’s Not Do That Again.”

Ginder is represented by UTA and Inkwell Management. Molyneux-Logelin and Molyneux are represented by WME and Kapan/Perrone.

Addai-Robinson is represented by Innovative Artists, Liebman Entertainment, and Felker Toczek. Soni is represented by CAA and 3 Arts. Milligan is represented by Gersh, RED Management, and McKuin Frankel. Goldwyn is represented by CAA, Untitled Entertainment, and Schreck Rose. De Bankolé is represented by Margrit Polak Management and Peach House.

Taccone is represented by UTA and Johnson Shapiro. Ovenden is represented by Independent Talent Group Ltd. And Framework. Janney is represented by Gersh and Thruline. Bell is represented by CAA and Schreck Rose, Adams, Berlin & Dunham. Platt is represented by CAA and One Entertainment. Scanlon is represented by UTA and 3 Arts.

optional screen reader

Read More About: